……………………..Limits are for governments.

Yes You May Stop What Your Are Doing and Take a Walk

“Afoot and light-hearted, I take to the open road.

Henceforth I ask not good fortune: I myself am good fortune…

Done with indoor complaints, libraries, querulous criticisms.

Strong and content, I take to the open road.”

James Allen, The Heavenly Life (p. 21). Kindle Edition.

Comment: We are all scolded enough with what exercise ought to be: heart rate raised for 20 min – nay that was last decade – heart rate raised for a minimum of 30 min at 130 beats per minute. Those who fall short of this sometimes give up exercise altogether, thinking that if they cannot attain the minimum definition of exercise published by experts, why bother? Others who do attain this daily habit very often go beyond it and overtrain, stressing their bodies and not allowing proper rest and healing between workouts of several hours. Today’s quote is from James Allen, and is to remind us that along with the toning of the body’s musculature, a simple walk under the crystal arcing sky is clearing and needful for mental vitality. Just as many athletes overtrain and strain their bodies, people who are busy sometimes strain the natural strength and tone of the mind.

A walk along a favorite or nearby path will refresh the mind as well as the body.

5 responses

  1. Hi! Zeke; I see that you have been busy here with new posts. I have been remiss at my own site as I am pushing hard on completing the condenser disk. Man I hate working on FRP.
    Interesting that the “educated” think you need to get your heart beat up to 130 beats for 20 min. to show strong exercise. When I do extended hard labor my heart beats stronger, not all that much faster. But then my efforts are generally for hours and not minuets. pg

    June 18, 2012 at 9:09 pm

  2. Hi PG,

    Yes I have been watching the pictures of the progress on the condenser disk. I really want one of those to suspend in my entryway, with lights on it so it can be seen at night in the huge picture window. Especially if there is a beautiful Tesla coil display underneath it. It is really magnificent in form – and I hope it works as an experiment too of course ;) :D

    Never mind the experts and their advice, I am sure all the work around your property counts. And daily walks do keep your frame and heart strong. You still come out ahead and will have fewer complaints. Of course, James Allen writes about taking a walk in the early morning, but I have yet to try that. :) Your area looks like there are some good trails. It reminds me of the Ukiah area.

    June 19, 2012 at 11:19 am

  3. From time to time I take a walk around the place, for a change as well as to check up on things. A half mile to one mile hike depending on the paths taken and about 100 foot elevation changes down and up. Even more if I visit the neighbors. That last 1,000 foot trudge up a 80 foot rise to the home site always gets the heart rate up. ;-) pg

    June 19, 2012 at 9:42 pm

  4. Hello, Zeke. Good to read your comments @ Chiefio, – lot of water under the bridge since I last visited your beautiful blog. Interesting times… I note, again, parallels with
    themes from my blog, like Norman Baurlaug and here, walking tours. https://beththeserf.wordpress.com/2016/09/11/41st-edition-serf-under_ground-journal/ and more. Even, lately, ‘thoughts on ‘the mysterious!.’ Will revisit to enjoy your insights further. Thx for your positive comment above linked to the Robert Frost poem. beththeserf

    November 12, 2023 at 12:00 am

  5. Hello to you too, beth.

    Thanks so much for leaving that Robert Frost poem. As you can see, I found it years later and it meant the world to me to read it again, just then. And you said, “Don’t know why I’m leaving this…” which was also part of the poem, for me . (:

    Yes, glad you are keeping up your great blog and comments. It is very nice to see you, beththeserf !

    November 12, 2023 at 10:46 am

Leave a comment