……………………..Limits are for governments.

Tallbloke's Talkshop

CHUNDER DOWN UNDER

HOW GHCN v3.2 MANUFACTURES WARMING IN THE OUTBACK
by Roger Andrews

I originally entitled this post “Blunder Down Under”, but then it occurred to me that all of what I’m about to describe wasn’t a blunder at all, but intentional. So I changed “Blunder” to “Chunder”, which as those of you familiar with the Strine language will know, means “throw up”.

NCDC recently released the latest version of the Global Historic Climate Network data set – GHCN version 3.2, which applies adjustments to remove the artificial man-made discontinuities and spurious gradients that allegedly plague the “raw” GHCN Version 2 data.

I started to go through the GHCN v3.2 data, and the first record I looked at was Alice Springs in the middle of Australia. I plotted the “raw” GHCN v2 data against the adjusted GHCN v3.2 data for the station, and here’s what I got:

http://oi49.tinypic.com/2e34y6d.jpg

GHCN…

View original post 776 more words

2 responses

  1. Hi Zeke,
    Love the translucent blog theme!

    October 11, 2012 at 11:19 am

  2. Thanks tallbloke, glad you like it.

    Of course, rather than translucence, maybe what my blog really could use is “impressive algorithms involving as the use of non-parametric Kendall-Thiel paired function looping indexes and a Bayesian Information Criteria model among other things,” like they have on the temperature adjustments. (: Why didn’t I think of that.

    October 11, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Leave a Reply

